<option id="wfwem"></option>

<dd id="wfwem"></dd>
    1. You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience and security.

      Twenty20 cricket

      print Print
      Please select which sections you would like to print:
      Corrections? Updates? Omissions? Let us know if you have suggestions to improve this article (requires login).
      Thank you for your feedback

      Our editors will review what you’ve submitted and determine whether to revise the article.

      Join Britannica's Publishing Partner Program and our community of experts to gain a global audience for your work!
      Alternative Title: T20

      Twenty20 cricket, also called T20, truncated form of cricket that revolutionized the game when it was introduced in 2003 with rule changes that put a premium on hitting and scoring, gaining a new audience for cricket.

      During the 1st Nat West t20 cricket match between England women's team and West Indies women's and played at Emirate Riverside Cricket Ground, Durham.
      Britannica Quiz
      T20 Cricket Quiz
      Who was the first Indian to win a T20 International Man of the Match award?

      Rules and history

      The basic rules are the same as for the longer versions, but innings are limited to 20 overs a side (an over comprises six balls delivered, or thrown, by a bowler to a batsman at the opposite wicket), with a maximum of four overs for each bowler and restrictions on the placement of fielders designed to encourage big hitting by the batsmen and high scores. In a short time, T20 became the most popular and lucrative form of cricket, particularly in India, where huge crowds attend matches in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and millions more watch on television. A shortened form of cricket known as Cricket Max was developed in New Zealand in the 1990s by the former Test batsman Martin Crowe, but the official rules for T20 were established by the England and Wales Cricket Board, and the first tournament was played by the English county teams, in 2003.

      The format was quickly adopted by other countries, and two years later Australia and New Zealand played each other in a lighthearted T20 match in Auckland, the first official international T20 match. Both sides wore uniforms from the 1980s and wore (mostly fake) moustaches. It quickly became apparent, though, that T20 had the potential to attract a new, vibrant, young audience to cricket. The first T20 World Cup, played in South Africa in 2007, was won by India, creating a huge market for T20 on the subcontinent that was quickly exploited by the IPL. Subsequent World Cups were played in various cricket-playing countries, with the West Indies capturing the most titles (two). Each major cricketing country developed its own domestic T20 tournaments, and a Champions League competition between the best club sides—like that contested in European football (soccer)—is held at the end of each T20 season.

      With its cheerleaders, loud music, and quick-fire entertainment, T20 was credited with reviving cricket in the 21st century. After initial doubts, players began to master the new skills demanded by T20 and to improve their fielding, throwing, and fitness. Traditional cricket followers, however, feared that inevitably T20 would threaten the future of Test cricket, regarded as the purest and most intricate form of the game.

      Get exclusive access to content from our 1768 First Edition with your subscription. Subscribe today
      Andrew Longmore

      Twenty20 World Cup results

      Results of the Twenty20 World Cup are provided in the table.

      Twenty20 cricket World Cup
      year result
      2007 India 157–5 Pakistan 152 India won by 5 runs
      2009 Pakistan 139–2 Sri Lanka 138–6 Pakistan won by 8 wickets
      2010 England 148–3 Australia 147–6 England won by 7 wickets
      2012 West Indies 137–6 Sri Lanka 101 West Indies won by 36 runs
      2014 Sri Lanka 134–4 India 130–4 Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets
      2016 West Indies 161–6 England 155–9 West Indies won by 4 wickets
      Special podcast episode for parents!
      Raising Curious Learners